Our Travels Home from Reno

During our stay in Reno last weekend,  Travel Man and I had an ongoing discussion on what route we would take to drive home.  The two choices were west on the I-80 to the I-5,  a reliable, rather monotonous drive, or south on the 395, a very scenic mountainous drive.  The big factor in which route we would take was the weather.  This was a major topic of discussion over the entire weekend.

We had to drive home on Monday, because Travel Man was back on the road Tuesday.  I was pretty insistent that we take the I-5 home.  It’s a reliable route, even though it’s a slightly longer drive.  Travel Man drives the I-5 a lot, so he was voting for the 395 route.  All weekend we are checking the weather, checking to see where there are chains required, getting updates from my Dad, and generally disagreeing on which way to drive home.  But come Monday morning the weather report was not good for the I-80 to the I-5 route.  There were some chain requirements, and the 395 was showing clear sailing.

So off we headed south on the 395, I’m sure my hubby was smiling on the inside, although I did not notice it outwardly.  Within 10 minutes of being in the car we are driving in light snow flurries.  I didn’t say anything to Travel Man at this point just gave him an “I told you so” glance.  I’m crossing my fingers that we won’t be driving in cloudy, snowy weather for the next 8 hours.

In the middle of all of this weather stuff, while we are driving,  I am checking Travel Man’s email on his work phone.  His next project assignment is in the works and the coordination was happening on Monday, that’s the day we were driving home.  For the first two hours it seemed like I was reading him an email very 10 minutes.  Is this anything like being a virtual assistant?  We had to make a few stops so Travel Man could answer his emails and make phone calls.

Nothing that Travel Man told me about this drive could have prepared me for the spectacular scenery we were about to embark upon.  About an hour into our drive, we broke thought the storm and were surrounded by sunny, blue skies, and glimpses of the eastern side of the Sierras.

Here is a small selection of the scenery we were getting to see on our path towards home.  For awhile there around every corner there was a new and improved breathtaking view.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We arrived home a little later than we expected, and it was time to get Travel Man ready for his drive the next day.  I’m so glad we got to make this trip to spend time with my parents.  There is nothing better than getting a chance to connect with your loved ones.  And I have to admit that when Travel Man suggests an alternate route from now on I will definitely be more receptive to a new adventures.

This entry was posted in Family, Travel Man, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Travels Home from Reno

Leave a Reply

